Sunday, January 24, 2021

Solve for X: Greek Anthology, XIV.1


Fortunate Pythagora, Musarum Heliconius surculus,

dic mihi interroganti, quot sapientiae in certamen

tuae domi sint, inter-se-contendentes optime.


Ego igitur dixerim, Polycrates: dimidia-pars quidem

circa pulchras dant-operam doctrinas; quarta pars rursos

immortali naturae laborem-adhibent: sed septimae-parti

silentium penitus curae-est, et aeterni intus sermones.

Tres vero mulieres sunt, Theano autem supereminet

Tot Pieridum interpretes ego duco.


 Όλβιε Πυθαγόρη Μουσέων Ελικώνιον έρνος

είπέ μοι ειρομένω οπόσοι σοφίης κατ αγώνα

σοισι δόμοισιν έασιν άεθλεύοντες άριστα


Τοιγάρ έγών είπoιμι Πολύκρατες ημίσεες μεν

αμφί καλά σπεύδουσι μαθήματα τετρατοι αύτε

 αθανάτου φύσεως πεπονήαται εβδομάτοις δε

 σιγή πάσα μέμηλε και άφθιτοι ένδοθι μύθοι

 τρείς δε γυναίκες έασι Θεανώ δ εξοχος άλλων

 Τόσσους Πιερίδων υποφήτορας αυτός αγινώ.

--Socrates, Greek Anthology XIV.1, Translated into Latin by Fred. Duebner


Blessed Pythagoras, protégé of the Heliconian Muses,

Tell me: how many students

Are striving for excellence

Within your household?


Polycrates, I’ll tell you:

half of them are studying literature;

a fourth of them are studying immortal nature;

a seventh part of them are silent in meditation.

Three of them are women; Theano is the best of them.

That is the number of interpreters of the Muses that I teach.



Name:  ????


Works:  Greek Anthology; Anthologia Graeca; Florilegii Graecii



Region 1: Peninsular Italy; Region 2: Western Europe; Region 3: Western Coast of Africa; Region 4: Egypt and Eastern Mediterranean; Region 5: Greece and the Balkans



 The Greek Anthology is a modern collection of Greek lyric poetry compiled from various sources over the course of Greco-Roman literature. The current collection was created from two major sources, one from the 10th century CE and one from the 14th century CE. The anthology contains authors spanning the entirety of Greek literature, from archaic poets to Byzantine Christian poets. 

 Byzantine Greek

ARCHAIC: (through 6th c. BCE); GOLDEN AGE: (5th - 4th c. BCE); ALEXANDRIAN: (4th c. BCE - 1st c. BCE); ROMAN: (1st c. BCE - 4th c. CE); POST CONSTANTINOPLE: (4th c. CE - 8th c. CE); BYZANTINE: (post 8th c CE)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.